Arizona Prop 206 gets big, fat YES from voters.
Proposition 206 to raise the minimum wage has been approved by Arizona voters. So what exactly does this mean for Arizonans? In 2016, Arizona law required employers to pay a minimum wage of $8.05 an hour. Starting Jan. 1, 2017, the state minimum wage will be raised to $10 an hour. From there we will see it increase gradually each year: $10.50 in 2018, $11 in 2019, and up to $12 in 2020 and index the rate to the federal consumer price index in later years. That isn’t all that will change with Prop 206. As of right now, there is not a state or federal mandated minimum amount of paid sick leave. Starting July 1, 2017, employers will be required to provide a minimum of 1 hour of paid sick leave per 30 hours worked. For large employers, this means they will be able to use a minimum of 40 hours of sick leave per year and small employers, a minimum of 24 hours per year.